Colour week

As a response to the criticism given to my group during tonal week, I decided that it might be a good idea to initially draw my tonal designs then immediately recreate these designs in colour. To do this, I researched some images and other art works which I felt reflected the tone, or quality of our world.

colour1

As our world was quite dark and was based in quite a natural setting (on a fictional island within the Bermuda triangle), I chose images based within woods and wilderness. After I did this, I selected a heavily shadowed area surrounded by trees then decided to make a tonal study in conte.

colour-2

Finally, I decided to paint this image using gouache; first in black and white, then in colour to explore my warm and dark tones. I felt that this would allow me to transition easier from tonal works week and colour week. colour

Below are my source photos for my colour project.
aaaaaajunglelocations-dark_foresttribal

Leave a Reply

