Tone Revisited

After revising my original tonal studies, I felt that the work that I had produced for this section was not to the standard I’d like. To rectify this, I decided to research some information on the topic online. My research helped me discover whom within the fine art world set a good example for depth within their work. The website ‘Tate’ pushed me to study the work of Vincent Van Gogh, in the book ‘Van Gogh: The Master Draughtsman’.

Whilst Van Gogh is renowned for his ability to manipulate colour, I felt that the way in which he emphasised the richness of colour within his work, would translate well to a colourless, tonal piece of art. Furthermore, in the Van Gogh book in which I’d studied, I’d found that the artist had actually created some colourless studies to emphasise light or lack of. He did this by using an already darkened page, then used ink and wash, and gouache, to show depth. All of this work was tinged slightly brown. Van Gogh’s work ‘Old man putting tree twigs on fire’ (1881), became of significant value to myself and my work to the point in which I decided to replicate this particular drawing.

Image result for old man putting tree twigs on fire van gogh
‘Old man putting twigs on fire’ (1881)
my-old-man-drawing
My interpretation of Van Gogh’s work

After creating my own study of the famous post-impressionist’s work, I proceeded to utilise some of the different tonal devices I had picked up within my own tonal design. Within the studies I created, I based my work on previous pieces of concept work that I had completed for the unit. And whilst Van Gogh used gouache, crayon, and pencil on laid paper, I used coffee to stain white paper, a runny black pen, gouache, and watercolour.  I felt that staining the pages before drawing would be a useful tool as the scenes I was creating were quite dark, and I could later add white gouache for highlights. The images in which I created whilst using the artist as a reference can be viewed below.

tonal-study-2
tonal-study

 

http://www.tate.org.uk/learn/online-resources/glossary/t/tone

Below are some of the image sources that I used for tone:
a501ce0879d8e42c98297f95e6c26800-1jungletopical

Leave a Reply

