Photography

To view my flickr account, please follow the link below:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/laurenlalabell/

To go straight to my images for this unit, follow the link below:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/laurenlalabell/albums

When I initially started the photography project, I was not very familiar with photography as a visual art form. My first photos came from a Samsung S6 Edge plus (which I had to borrow), whilst I occasionally attempted to take photos with my own phone (Samsung Note 4). I had no real artistic influences to impact my own work, and I also had no understanding as to how I could possibly manipulate a camera to produce adequate photographs.

The key to the development in my photography work seemed to stem from learning about features of the phone’s camera such as ‘ISO’ and the exposure value. These two features significantly developed my work; especially within my tonal photographs. Originally to create tonal photos, I simply searched for a darker area with some artificial light seeping through, then I’d adjust the contrast of the image and add a filter to emphasise tonal value. After experimenting with the settings on my camera, I could start to take tonal photos during broad daylight, and manipulate how dark they appeared.  Some of my favourite photos benefited greatly from this method.

31982299661_6c3159309a_o (1).jpg
The image above is one of my personal favourites. Whilst manipulating shutter speed and ISO, I managed to create quite a dark image. Whilst I enjoyed this method, I found that I regularly had to readjust these values significantly whilst trying to take other photos as they were not suitable for others areas I was photographing. I also found that manipulating colour photos this way made a significant impact on their vibrancy.

Through out this section of the project, I found the book ‘Photography’ by John Ingledew to be of significant use; particularly whilst speaking about depth of field. This book highlighted to importance of shutter speed and it’s effect on depth of field; at a smaller aperture, you’ll find a greater depth of field, whilst a wider aperture would provide the least depth of field. As the concept of this particular section of my photography project was more confusing to me, this made a significant impact on my work.

Whilst working on my perspective photography, I was at a loss with the type of work I could create-this lead me to research online. Photos such as the one below, inspired me to be more creative with my photos-especially in my ‘Perspective’ section.

morning_mood_by_tatiannna
Photo by Tatiana Mikhina, entitled ‘Morning Mood’

Within my scale work, I found the website ‘Picture Correct’ to be of significant use to me. Whilst I found it easier to do my scale photography whilst being outside, the website highlighted different factors which would make my over all scale photos to be more effective. The most significant factors in taking scale photography appear to be lens perspective, Lines and perspective, diminishing perspective, scale and comparison, and stretching perspective. Below are some of the images I found to be of most use (particularly through the use of railings and extreme close ups to objects).

car-from-below

perspective photos

I found that depth of field played great significance in the quality of my work; even whilst photos weren’t always in this category. In general, I just felt that they were more aesthetically pleasing and brought more attention to a photographs particular characteristics. The image below conveys how the use of ‘Depth of Feild’ managed to play a crucial part within my other photography photos. This photo was used for colour.

lauren-colour-flower

Within my perspective work, I found reflective surfaces to be the most interesting whilst trying to capture an image. Similarly to the work of Escher (whom I’d previously studied), I found myself taking some images which completely warped the subject. This image can be seen below.

31984236382_544f555189_o (1).jpg
Furthermore, as I’d previously mentioned in an earlier blog post, the use of forced perspective allowed me to play around with my camera to capture images I could orchestrate. Below are two examples of the images I managed to produce by re-positioning objects myself.
31324040493_596c7637d5_o32061082886_5471dbd0c7_o-1

The work that I probably found easiest was my tonal, colour, and texture work. Texture felt quite natural to me as I was able to take photographs. I found that I’d developed a fondness for creating extreme close ups of objects then emphasising the contrast post production. Below is one of my favourite images from my photography project.

32122709565_51aaa1257f_o.jpg

As I had been set with this particular project during Autumn/ Winter, creating colour images proved difficult within nature. To rectify this, I decided to seek out incongruity with areas whilst outside through discarded rubbish/ graffiti; this seemed to create a perfect contrast against the overly exposed back grounds in  nature. Below are some examples of this. Additionally, I would frequently increase contrast within images, increase brightness,and hue, to further emphasise colours.

31309077683_d7dbfdc275_o.jpg

Finally, I found tonality within my photos to be a particularly easier section. Whilst playing with indoor light, candles, and shadowed areas outside, I was able to successfully complete this section. Whilst being indoors, I was able to manipulate the tonality through moving around lamps, and opening doors to release light. Below are some examples of this.

The image below emphasises how I could manipulate ISO and aperture to make an image appear darker than what it really was.
31752098310_dc32aefa41_o32007085761_4ea48fe098_o
The above image emphasis how I was able to manipulate florescent light to artificially create tonality. I quite liked this image as it appeared to look like a vintage photo.

Throughout this project, I regularly found myself making use of others methods which were requirements of other categories; the use of depth of field was significant within other work in which I produced. Furthermore, the use of post editing elements like contrast, hue, brightness, and use of some filters allowed me to create more effective photo.

Below are my top 6 images within my work:

Texture:
Photography.jpg

 

Tone:
31751615610_8cb48fb796_o-1

 

Colour:
31952332422_6a77b4fe0f_o (1).jpg

 

Depth of field:
31309064293_873632df92_o.jpg


Scale:
32100509785_9012d37e64_o

Perspective:
31290171913_231e535817_o

Links to my sources:
http://digital-photography-school.com/iso-settings/

http://www.digital-photo-secrets.com/tip/19/exposure-value/

https://photographyicon.com/scale/

http://www.picturecorrect.com/tips/using-perspective-and-scale-in-photography/

http://www.outdoorphotographer.com/pro-perspectives/william-neill/on-landscape-a-sense-of-scale/

http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/depth-of-field.htm

http://www.digital-photo-secrets.com/tip/2815/using-color-in-photography/

For my perspective work:

(Flower photo)

http://tatiannna.deviantart.com/art/Morning-Mood-117043223

http://tatianamikhina.com/about

Leave a Reply

