My first try at creating work within Maya for my floating city


As many of the buildings in Venus were created during the Gothic/ renaissance periods, they commonly have some type of arch either as a doorway, or simply for aesthetically purposes inside buildings. This is why I found it necessary to research how I may model this within Maya; the shape of an arch is quite different to what I’m used to working with and I wouldn’t know how to initially go about creating one.

Tutorials on how to create arches:

These tutorials were quite informative in how I could create arches within the city. Previously to watching these tutorials, my method in creating arches was very convoluted and involved drawing out the individual frames of the arches with an edge cutting tool, then extruding inward; as I was creating windows, my process was slightly different to this particular method.

Leave a Reply

