Life Drawing Assignments

Since the start of the semester, I’ve been given multiple different life drawing tasks to complete in my own time. This type of work includes; drawing well known characters from animations, drawing from real life references, and focusing on form/balance. Some of this work can be viewed below.

As this semester seemed to focus on head and their construction, I took advantage of this and decided to draw faces from the book ‘The Complete Guide to Illustration by Peter Gray. I started with a basic circular sketch for the skull, then the jaw. After this, I mapped out lines on the face to drawn in facial features after ward. Finally, I completed the drawing with a thicker line. I really enjoy draw faces so I quite enjoyed this task.
1

The image below shows my exploration of form; I used a fellow class mate in the same room as a reference. To start, I draw out a basic square shape for the seat of the chair, then I proceeded to draw a line of action for my model, then I filled in the basic form and detail. I quite liked this exercise as I could happily spend as long as I pleased drawing until I was satisfied with the outcome.
2

The image below is based on the character George from Pixar’s animated short ‘Paper Man’. Whilst drawing this character, I started with a box showing the position of the head, then the skull and jaw. As I’d regularly not use a box when drawing heads, this method was quite foreign to me. As the design was essentially a caricature, I was also able to make use of drawing basic shapes for details like the nose and ears.
10

Below is a drawing based on the character Pinocchio. This exercise explored stance, weight, and movement. I found this quite difficult as the character had seriously contorted his body and I had to ensure all the proportions were correct. I started with a line of action, then proceeded to include basic shapes.
9

The exercise below focused on a head rotation of the character Pinocchio. Once again, whilst drawing this, the box method of drawing heads was quite foreign to me and I struggling with it. One of my main barriers was running out of space on my page; this meant I couldn’t draw a complete head and some of my proportions had to be forced in. Additionally, Pinocchio never appears to be viewed from a complete profile view so I found this sketch quite jarring and difficult.
8

The next three sketches focused on balance. To convey balance, I felt that it would be more enjoyable and beneficial to draw ballerinas; these type of dancers are renowned for their balance and grace. As always, I initially started with line of action then proceeded to fill in the form with basic shapes; I found this quite enjoyable the most of the figures were female (with more curvaceous figures) and also due to the interesting positions that the woman stood. I found myself relying on the blunt peice of my conte to make my initial mapping of the figures, then a pointier end of my conte to draw detail. Finally, this exercise highlighted to me the importance of appreciating and applying knowledge of human anatomy.
765
The exercise below focused on working with facial expression. I used my own face as a reference so that I could explore facial expressions I was most interested in. With this task, I ensured that I contorted my face in numerous different ways to explore a multitude of expressions. Additionally, I excluded the entirety of the skull as I was focusing on the face. Unlike other drawings, I started out with a pencil to draw my initial sketch (this included mapping out lines for eyes, mouth, nose, and facial structure etc) then I filled in the final detail with an inky pen; I did did this because I preferred how clean and finalised the drawing looked. Furthermore, elements like hair and make up were also included for stylistic reasons.
43

Leave a Reply

