Animating and Final Animation

Rendering



As my assignment required me to create an animated short, I thought it would be wise to learn how to render. In order to do this, I decided to look at some Youtube tutorials, then trial and error the different options.

Tutorials:

Maya 2017 Essential Training Render Settings in Arnold

The video below was one of the first I had looked at. Rather than showing me how to batch render (which was what I had been looking for) it simply explained the updated render settings in Maya 2017; it particularly focused on adjustments to settings based on your lighting/rendering preferences.

 

How to Render an animation in Maya 2016| Animation Tutorials

The video below was very significant in my understanding of how to render. This tutorial thoroughly explained both the rendering settings, their relevance to particular purposes, and the actual process in starting a render. Whilst the video emphasised the importance in file outputs, image size presets, and anti-aliasing choices, the image format in which the tutor used(targa (tga)) was not available on my computer so I decided to seek out another video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G2iIWGbDtms

 

How to Batch render and compile your Maya 2016 Animation on Youtube

The video below was key to understanding in how to render. Not only did the video explain a particular rendering process with options that differed to the other tutorials, but it also explained how to finalise a project as a video. Unlike the previous video, this tutorial used the Maya Software menu in it’s render settings. This particular video used a jpeg image format so I was able to step by step follow the tutorial (unlike the previous), but the steps were essentially quite similar. After these images had been batch rendered, they would then be sorted into my project file and I could import those into windows movie maker and adjust timing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojvf39ph5MI


Title Sequence


What is it?
One of the first things that I had started to animated after completing my models was the title sequence; this title sequence was not subsequently used but gave me some insight in how I could animate. Below is an image of this work.

All Fizzed up.jpeg

Here is a link to the video below.

How did I do this?

In order to create this, I had to take basic polygon primitives and simply extruded/ combined different shapes to form the letters. To give the animation some personality and relevance  decided to bounce in the logo then key frame the word ‘Shake’ in different positions to appear as if it were shaking.

I was inspired by the quirky, clay like aesthetic of Al’s apartment whilst creating this. As my team and I had been using this show as inspiration through out the process, I felt that this was a wise choice.


Rigging


In order to understand how to rig, I looked at the tutorial which had been posted to blackboard for our class, ‘Rigging Jonas’. This particular video emphasised the importance of using a lattice to move segments of the body, but also the need to parent particular sections of a body with others. I found this tutorial some what difficult to grasp so I decided to do some further research.

Maya Character Rigging Tutorial: Joints and Skinning

I found the video below through Youtube. Similarly to the previous tutorial, this method uses parent and child relationships to develop unified movement within a character. What’s different about this tutorial is how it creates a humanoid structure (through joints) to create movement. This structure almost works as a spine; it uses a similar skeletal structure but rather places the insides directly at the centre of mass. What I found most interesting was how the joints could be mirrored by simply selecting  mirror joints in the skeleton menu.

Maya Tutorial: Animate objects using blend shape

Upon doing some research into blend shapes, my team mates and I decided that this method may be an interesting way to animate our characters; as our characters were cuboids, this method would be helpful. This video below was useful in helping my understanding of blend shapes. This video explains how duplicating the one polygon primitive multiple times then distorting each shape (through manipulation of scale/vertex) and then creating a blend shape in reformer would allow the user to control their character through different tabs. The tutorial was of great significance as I feel out characters moved quite similarly.



Camera Shots


After facing critique in the past about our different type of shots, we felt as if it may be a good idea to observe another animation of a similar nature. To do this, we decided to analyse Barbie and Ken’s first meeting in Toy Story 3. The clip we used can be viewed below.

Barbie and Ken
Artist: Lauren Bell

This work allowed us to make parallels within our own animation and how to make our animation more fitting of the rom-com genre. For one, we quite liked the way in which a stereotypical eighties song had been used to reflect how Barbie and Ken were feeling about each other, so we decided to do the same thing  by using Marvin Gaye’s ‘Let’s get it on’; this song is universally known for it’s explicit sexual meaning.

vending machines.png
Above: Image from my team’s animation

Our staging in the above image mimics the staging within Toy Story 3.

barbie and ken movie.png
Above: Barbie and Ken first Meet (Toy Story 3)


Final Animation


After waiting several days for all our renders to be completed, the animation was finally finished. Over all, I am incredibly happy with the outcome and feel as if the animation looks significantly better than what I ever would have imagined.

Below are some images of our final animation.

shot 6shot 5shot 4shot 3shot 2shot 1


Animated Short-Final Adjustments


After facing some critique our final animation, my team mates and I realised that there has to be some adjustments. Some of these adjustments included; the size of our foam, the visibility of logos, the inclusion of ambient sounds, and others. Unfortunately, we found that these adjustments took quite a long period of time to render. Below is the outcome of this final version.

 


Additional Work


Logos:

As our short focused on vending machines, My team and I felt that it might be necessary to create our own logos. Many of these logos were based on pre-existing brands and were meant to be satirical. The first image below is a logo in which I created based on the Tayto logo.

brand 6
Artist:Lauren Bell

Below is the reference photo I used whilst creating this logo.

Tayto-Logo-4.png

Below are some of the logos my team mates created.

brand 7brand 8brand 9brand 5brand 4brand 3brand 2brand 1

logo 8logo 7logo 6logo 5logo 4logo 3logo 2logo 1


Character Models:

Below are some images of the characters models which Gleen had created for our animated short. Glen had also rigged these characters.

character 1character 2character 3character 4character 5character 6


Shot Practice:

I created this very basic animation on the animator app on my phone in order to communicate my ideas with fellow members of my group. The purpose of this clip was to explore a love story between our vending machines who would both be empty until they fall in love with one another.

video practice
Artist: Lauren Bell

Below are some more shot ideas that my team and I had discussed. These shots focused on a love story between our vending machines running toward one another, then becoming unplugged, and both shutting off as a result.

1
Artist: Lauren Bell

2
Artist: Lauren Bell

3
Artist: Lauren Bell

4
Artist: Lauren Bell

5
Artist: Lauren Bell

6
Artist: Lauren Bell

Reference Image sources:

http://www.tayto.com/

Leave a Reply

